June 2013 Reading Recap

Here’s what I read in June:

            

1. Fool Moon by Jim Butcher
2. Lover Mine by J.R. Ward
3. Mad About Macarons! by Jill Colonna
4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
6. Glitches by Marissa Meyer {novella}
7. Captive in the Dark by C.J. Roberts
8. Seduced in the Dark by C.J. Roberts
9. The Queen’s Army by Marissa Meyer {novella}
10. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
11. The Ash-Born Boy by Victoria Schwab {novella}
12. Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor
13. Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

Tons of books! Three of them are actually novellas but put together they equal a large chunk of book themselves. Even not counting the novellas, I finished off ten full books – way over what I would have expected of myself. Maybe averaging one a week? Sure. But two and a half a week? Wow. Go me, huh? Guess I better keep that pace up if I’m going to read 65 books this year (I’m a tad behind schedule already).

So in June, I managed to chalk up quite a lot of progress toward my goals!

  • Added 13 books to my total of 65 for the year (making 28 out of 65 done)
  • Added 2 to sub goal “read at least 5 books set in countries outside of the U.S.” (making 3 out of 5 done)
  • Added 1 to sub goal “read at least 5 books set in U.S. states I haven’t visited” (making 3 out of 5 done)
  • Added 3 to sub goal “read at least 5 books set in other worlds or on other planets” (making 3 out of 5 done)
  • Added 1 to sub goal “read at least 15 culinary books” (making 2 out of 15 done)
  • FINISHED my sub goal to “branch out to 3 new or under-read genres, reading at least 2 books in each”

I didn’t make any progress in my TBR pile, which is okay, because most of my unread books are fairly new. Gotta let them sit and age for a bit before they’re counted anyway, right? 🙂

I also didn’t make any progress on the sub goal to “read at least 4 books set in my home state(s) – Mississippi & Louisiana” simply because I haven’t gotten my hands on any recently. Bad bookworm, go to the local author section in the bookstore already!

signature

12 thoughts on “June 2013 Reading Recap

  1. Just thought I’d say hey and welcome to book blogging; I came over here from Another Novel Read! Didn’t you love Cinder? I really enjoyed it and Scarlet as well; I still need to read the novellas.

    • I do love Cinder, and thanks so much for stopping by to welcome me! Kelley raved for so long about Cinder that I finally picked it as my first YA novel. It definitely exceeded my expectations for the genre, and I’m so glad. I haven’t gotten to Scarlet yet but have been keeping my excitement sort of contained with the Lunar Chronicles novellas. I thought The Queen’s Army in particular was super good!

    • I just noticed I totally stole your “Reading Recap” post name without realizing it! Lol oops. I couldn’t for the life of me think of something better to call it though. And omgosh I KNOW! I can’t believe I read that much stuff in June. I felt like I wasn’t even spending that much of my free time reading, but I know I zoomed through Cinder & the two Daughter of Smoke and Bone books. Garden Spells too, actually. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I don’t think any of them lasted more than three days and I was trying to pace myself so they wouldn’t be over with too soon.

      I’m glad I’m book blogging too! It’s already fun. I want to do some reviews on some of these but I’m so sketchy on how to start. >.<

      • Okay, I finally added this blog to my Links page so I can access it easily! (I love the WordPress notification bar, but for some reason whenever I try to interact with it beyond looking at my notifications, it crashes Firefox on my work computer. So annoying!)

        And ha, don’t worry about the Reading Recap name! I love it! 😀

    • Oh gosh browser crashes over silly things are the worst. I’m so glad none of that nonsense goes on with Chrome on my home PC, since I would have no idea what other browser to even use instead of it anymore.

      • Yeah it’s super weird because I don’t have any problems with it on my home computer, and I can’t see any differences between the two. >_<

  2. Ooh some great books! I read Daughter of Smoke and Bones, Days of Blood and Starlight, Cinder, Glitches, and The Queen’s Army all in June as well! It’s like the stars are aligned for us or something 😉 Have you started reading Scarlet? I just finished yesterday and loved it – more than I did Cinder!

    • Haha the stars are totally plotting on us. I haven’t read Scarlet yet but I definitely want to! I’m trying to get through some of my disgustingly large TBR pile before I buy more books, no matter how much I want to read new ones. And I just got three new books last week so I have to pace myself. Responsibility, wah!

      I actually liked The Queen’s Army best out of all the Lunar Chronicles stories I’ve read so far! I was rooting for Z the whole time.

  3. Oh, you read some great books/novellas! I loved Cinder and The Ash-Born Boy, and I’ve heard amazing things about Daughter of Smoke and Bones and Days of Blood and Starlight. I love the cover art for Glitches *O*

    Yay for reading progress/reaching sub-goals!

    • Yes! I really liked most of the books I read last month, with a few exceptions, and some of those books are now my favorites. I can’t believe I waited so long to get into the YA genre. There are so many good things! I love the cover art for Glitches too, but am an even bigger fan of the one for The Queen’s Army. 😀

Leave a Reply

