2013 Reading Goals

Well, the year 2013 is pretty much halfway over. Hardly the time to be setting goals, but I’ve never been one for following rules too closely. šŸ™‚

This year I’ve been reading more than usual, and getting more involved in genres I normally stray away from. With my recent introduction to the Young Adult genre I’ve been opened up to a whole new world of fiction: easy to read, still fulfilling, and man… some of the imaginations on these authors! They have so many fabulous books in settings I’m already drawn to… fantasy, magical realism, science fiction, dystopia. Between my voracious literary appetite and being a frequent reader on some truly inspiring book blogs, I’ve been itching to start my own.

I figured I would kick off by bending/breaking rules, giving myself goals for a year halfway into said year. I *am* going to track progress on these goals with books I’ve already read since the beginning of 2013. After all, I put in the time and effort to read them so they should still count. It’s not really cheating, right?

I totally want to jack these goals up even higher, but since this is the first year I’m doing this, I’ll try to keep it reasonable. Outlandish overachiever behavior will still be present when 2014 rolls around. Maybe I can grapple with some of it then. šŸ™‚

* read at least 65 books
* read at least 5 books set in countries outside of the U.S.
* read at least 5 books set in U.S. states I haven’t visited
* read at least 4 books set in my home state(s) – Mississippi & Louisiana
* read at least 5 books set in other worlds or on other planets
* read at least 15 culinary books (have to keep those living-making skills honed)
* branch out to 3 new or under-read genres, reading at least 2 books in each
* read at least 10 books in my owned-but-not-read pile

The specific goals alone add up to 50 books. Some books could count for multiple goals, but I’m totally going to go over my goal of 65 if I read much outside of there (which I already have).

There’s a widget in the top right of the page to help me keep track of my overall progress, and I also have a page to keep track of individual goal progress. I think I’m the most excited about books set in places I haven’t been. I have such a case of wanderlust, and being able to travel through someone’s writing is so exhilirating… so much so that I named my blog after it.

Do you have a reading goal for the year? If so, are you going with the Goodreads default number of books, or have you given yourself more specific challenges?

signature

2 thoughts on “2013 Reading Goals

  1. Holy crap, those are some lofty goals! But I like them! I’d love to see the progress you’ve made on each of these! And I don’t think it’s cheating at all to count the books you read in 2013 before setting the goal. You still read them this year!

    I should probably read more culinary books, but for some reason I find them really hard to get into. The only one I’ve ever finished completely was What We Eat When We Eat Alone, and it was or two reasons. 1) It was pretty short, and 2) it was during a day-long sleep study in which I had lots of free time and nothing else to do. I wonder why I can’t get into most others. =/

    • I’m already 41% through the main goal, and that’s without even trying, so I bumped it up from 50 to 65. I think it’s totally doable! And I’m pretty sure a few of the ones I’ve read fall into the sub goals also so it won’t be too hard to catch up on those either.

      I know what you mean about it being hard to get into culinary books. I have to be in the right mood to read through them or it feels like I’m forcing homework on myself. I have tons and tons of them to read through, though, and I was really excited about getting each and every one of them. So I’m pretty sure if I just pick them up it will be all downhill from there.

      I would suggest M.F.K. Fisher’s The Art of Eating for a good culinary book. Her writing style is so elegant, and the book is a collection of essays (some short, some not so much) so it would be easy to pick up and put down whenever. As for not being able to get into a lot of them, maybe you just need to find the ones that speak to you. I can’t read all of them myself but there are a good handful that I read a description for and am like GIMME!

Leave a Reply

